REALISING MY CHILDHOOD DREAM

Every man has a dream, be you young or old. A young man can make more attempts in his youth that at old age, but the impossible is determined by your mind set. CAN YOU or CAN YOU NOT?
Napoleon Hill wrote “Cherish your visions and your dreams as they are the children of your soul, the blueprints of your ultimate achievements.”
For five years, I used a typewriter. I never used any typist program but by the time I first touched a computer keyboard, I was the fastest of my peers. I had skills even before I knew what purpose they were for. I hadn’t the faintest clue what literature was but I first wrote a poem in J.S.S 1. I watched my elder brother write poems as well as heard him talk about Medicine as a career. I knew what rhymes were only because he told me. I wanted to be a medical doctor but I loved poetry. It came naturally to me. I gave up the medical career and attempted law. I ended up studying English and Literature. Faced with choices, I opted to be the boss and my education suffered. Staggered through school and became the boss indeed. Through my fast paced learning, my talents and ambitions, I have learnt a lot.
1. You first learn something without knowing why, but then it becomes a part of you. For example, you start by learning alphabets ABCDEF… then you learn how to put them together to form words. For example, I+T =IT. You get every piece of the picture, sometimes idly but there is always a purpose for whatever lesson you learn.
2. When you find the purpose for which you learn the things you know, it doesn’t always align with what the world accepts.
3. Until you find peace doing what you love. You might never love the life you will live. Regrets will walk beside you to your grave if you neglect your gifts. Ella Fitzgerald wrote “Just don’t give up trying to do what you really want to do. When there is love and inspiration, I don’t think you can go wrong”. It does not matter if you fail, what matters is how many times you are willing to try again. Giving up is never an option. Failure is not the number of times you fail but the end of all attempts to succeed.
From idly learning the use of a type writer, I had a later opportunity of helping folks send emails or type long letters at internet cafe’s. I earned a lot for my ability and I certainly enjoyed teaching my seniors. I was useful and usefulness is employment.
From surrendering the opportunity of a well recognized degree, I tapped into my emotions and found a well of beautiful words. So much flows within me that I will never drain completely. Am forever a work in progress, destined to love my output and never get tired. My words will entertain and educate men and women irrespective of their degree or career. A privilege I owe to God for creating a pen in my heart. Judy Collins wrote “I think people who are creative are the luckiest people on earth. I know that there are no shortcuts… Do what you love, and you will find a way to get it to the world.”
This write up is to inspire you. Find the little things you connect with, sum them up and create a talent that you won’t struggle to nourish. Keep hope alive and never forgo your dream. In all your do, never let another man draw time from your clock. Waste no time with activities that you do not enjoy. Enjoy what you do but make sure it is productive and not someone else’s picture of your future.
I ask you one question, what is your dream?
Written By Ojeabulu Justin Ehidiamhen. 16/08/2015.

One thought on “REALISING MY CHILDHOOD DREAM

Leave a Reply

